10
Jul
08

SEARCHING

I have always been conflicted between painting and film, painting it what I do, and film is what I have always wanted to do. So this project entitled searching is my attempt at both. The idea is to paint 4 near complete paintings celebrating four world religions. I met a young man in Orem Ut. who was a practicing Hassidic Jew. He had no obvious Jewish heritage beyond the trappings of his wispy beard and yamika. He timidly stocked groceries behind the towering boxes hiding from my inescapable gaze, as if he new I was on the model hunt. He never did model, no way he was going to shave his beard, but none the less he inspired the idea. The final piece is framed in a cathedral style about 6 inches deep with a drawer in the side containing an LCD monitor, thus allowing the narrative to play next to the final piece.

BEN

6 Responses to “SEARCHING”


  1. July 10, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Oh my gosh!!! That is seriously the most brilliant painting concept I have ever seen. I’ve seen it like seven times and it still effects me. You are a true artist.

  2. 3 Scott Kendal Brown
    July 27, 2008 at 1:57 am

    Wow, that frame rocks. Where did you ever get it? jk. Killer animation, I hadn’t seen it until I stumbled upon this blog. Neat blog too.

  3. July 28, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Dang! Ben. Great job! How impressive! You, Justin, Sean, and Jeff are doing some great things. Bridge is going to be a big success!!

  4. July 31, 2008 at 3:35 am

    Wow! Ben! I’ve got goosebumps that won’t stop! Such a great concept and fun innovation. You rock, boy! We’re so excited for the Academy and know it will be a fantastic success. Cool website too, Ben S.! You fellers got talent!

  5. July 31, 2008 at 7:39 am

    This is one of the coolest painting ideas I’ve ever seen. There’s so much going on that you take for granted watching it. So many great decisions along the way.


Leave a Reply

